Memorial Planned for LAPD Officers Killed in Line of Duty

Police Car in LA

Photo: Getty Images

LOS ANGELES (CNS) - There will be a memorial ceremony Thursday for the 10 Los Angeles Police Department officers who died in the line of duty since 1915 while assigned to the Northeast Division.

LAPD Chief Michel Moore is expected to preside over the Thursday afternoon ceremony at the LAPD Northeast Station.

Among those also expected to be on hand are department commanders, Northeast Division personnel, and family members of fallen officers.

"The ceremony will include the dedication of an `End of Watch' memorial sculpture in memory of the 10 officers who died in the line of duty while assigned to Northeast Division over the years," an LAPD statement said.

The LAPD officers and their date of death are:

-- Sgt. John F. Toolen, Oct. 19, 1915;

-- Policeman George E. Papst, July 27, 1924;

-- Patrolman Arthur L. Davenport, May 16, 1926;

-- Policeman William H. Marple, Feb. 27, 1929;

-- Policeman John M. Schomaker, Feb. 27, 1929;

-- Policeman Paul Donath, April 28, 1932;

-- Policeman Malcolm L. Beaty, Aug. 29, 1966;

-- Policeman Donald L. Highley, Feb. 10, 1968;

-- Detective Abiel "Abe" Barron, June 25, 2003; and

-- Police Officer Landon Dorris, Oct. 22, 2006.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content