Billie Eilish, Ariana Grande, Jay-Z Among Composer/Lyricist Nominees

94th Annual Oscars Nominees Luncheon - Arrivals

Photo: Getty Images

LOS ANGELES (CNS) - Composers Hans Zimmer and Alexandre Desplat and songwriters/singers including Lin-Manuel Miranda, Billie Eilish and Jay-Z are among the artists looking to take home honors during tonight's presentation of the third annual Society of Composers & Lyricists Awards.  

Zimmer is nominated for his score for the sci-fi film ``Dune,'' while Desplat is nominated for ``The French Dispatch.'' Also nominated in the studio film category were Nicholas Britell for ``Don't Look Up,'' Germaine Franco for ``Encanto'' and Jonny Greenwood for ``The Power of the Dog.''  

Greenwood is also nominated in the independent film category for his score for ``Spencer.'' Also nominated are Kubilay Uner for ``American Traitor: The Trial of Axis Sally,'' Daniel Hart for ``The Green Knight,'' Rachel Portman for ``Julia'' and Alberto Iglesias for ``Parallel Mothers.''  

Eilish and Jay-Z are both nominated for best song in a drama/documentary -- Eilish for ``No Time to Die'' from the James Bond film of the same name, and Jay-Z for ``Guns Go Bang'' from ``The Harder They Fall.'' Diane Warren is nominated twice in the category, for ``Somehow You Do'' from ``Four Good Days'' and for ``(Never Gonna) Tame You'' from ``The Mustangs: America's Wild Horses,'' while Rufus Wainwright is nominated for ``Secret Sister from ``Rebel Hearts.''  

Miranda has a nod for best song in a musical/comedy for ``Home All Summer'' from ``In the Heights.'' Also nominated in the category are Ariana Grande for ``Just Look Up'' from ``Don't Look Up''; Jennifer Hudson and Carole King for ``Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)'' from ``Respect''; Amie Doherty for ``Fearless'' from ``Spirit Untamed'' and Kris Bowers and Siedah Garrett for ``Together All the Way'' from ``Dear White People.''  

The SCL Awards ceremony, hosted by Aloe Blacc, will be at the Skirball Cultural Center. The event was originally planned for Feb. 1 but was delayed due to surging COVID-19 cases.  

During the show, composer Carter Burwell and filmmakers Joel & Ethan Coen will receive The Spirit of Collaboration Award, honoring their partnership on 17 films, including ``Raising Arizona,'' ``The Big Lebowski'' and ``No Country for Old Men.''  

The ceremony will also include performances by Barlow & Bear, Judith Hill and Cory Pesaturo, as well as The Carter Burwell Ensemble.  

Here is a complete list of nominees:   


-- Nicholas Britell, ``Don't Look Up''  

-- Hans Zimmer, ``Dune''  

-- Germaine Franco, ``Encanto''  

-- Alexandre Desplat, ``The French Dispatch''  

-- Jonny Greenwood, ``The Power of the Dog''   


-- Kubilay Uner, ``American Traitor: The Trial of Axis Sally:  

-- Daniel Hart, ``The Green Knight''  

-- Rachel Portman, ``Julia''  

-- Alberto Iglesias, ``Parallel Mothers''

-- Jonny Greenwood, ``Spencer'' SONG MUSICAL/COMEDY

-- Nicholas Britell, Ariana Grande, Scott Mescudi and Taura Stinson, ``Just Look Up'' from ``Don't Look Up''

--  Jamie Hartman, Jennifer Hudson and Carole King, ``Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)'' from ``Respect''

-- Amie Doherty, ``Fearless'' from ``Spirit Untamed''

-- Kris Bowers, Siedah Garrett, ``Together All the Way'' from ``Dear White People''

-- Lin-Manuel Miranda, ``Home All Summer'' from ``In the Heights'' SONG DRAMA/DOCUMENTARY

-- Billie Eilish and Finneas O'Connell, ``No Time To Die'' from ``No Time to Die''

-- Diane Warren, ``Somehow You Do'' from ``Four Good Days''

-- Rufus Wainwright, ``Secret Sister'' from Rebel Hearts''

-- Diane Warren, ``(Never Gonna) Tame You'' from ``The Mustangs: America's Wild Horses''

-- Shawn Carter, Scott Mescudi and Jeymes Samuel, ``Guns Go Bang'' from ``The Harder They Fall'' TELEVISION

-- Natalie Holt, ``Loki''

-- Jung Jae-il, ``Squid Game''

-- Nicholas Britell, ``Succession''

-- Christophe Beck, ``Wandavision''

-- Cristobel Tapia de Veer, ``The White Lotus'' INTERACTIVE

-- Austin Wintory, ``Alien Fireteam Elite''

-- Hildur Gudnadóttir and Sam Slater, ``Battlefield 2042''

-- Germaine Franco, ``Kung Fu Panda: Land of Awesomeness'' DAVID RAKSIN AWARD

-- Joy Ngiaw, ``Blush''

-- Anne-Kathrin Dern, ``The Claus Family''

-- Stephanie Economou, ``Jupiter's Legacy''

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content