Guillermo del Toro, Jane Campion Among Final Draft Award Honorees

TCL Chinese Theatre Hosts Early Access Screening Of "Nightmare Alley" With Introduction By Director Guillermo del Toro

Photo: Getty Images

LOS ANGELES (CNS) - Oscar-winning filmmakers Guillermo del Toro and Jane Campion were among the honorees announced today for the 17th annual Final Draft Awards recognizing ``outstanding and elevated achievements in storytelling.''

``Storytellers have been revered throughout history for their ability to connect us,'' Final Draft President Shelly Mellott said in a statement.

``This year's honorees are using their considerable talents to tell brave, audacious stories in imaginative ways that entertain, provoke and enlighten audiences. We could not be more proud to honor them and their outstanding work and the impact their stories have on our culture.''

Del Toro, the filmmaker behind this year's ``Nightmare Alley,'' will receive the Final Draft Hall of Fame Award for his body of work. Campion, who wrote and directed ``The Power of the Dog,'' will receive the Trailblazer Award for consistently telling ``compelling and bold stories.''

Final Draft Storyteller Awards will be presented to screenwriters Nicole Holofcener for ``The Last Duel'' and Danny Strong for the limited series ``Dopesick.''

The New Voice Award for TV will be presented to Ashley Lyle and Bart Nickerson, the husband-and-wife writing/producing team behind the series ``Yellowjackets,'' while the New Voice Award for Film will go to Jeymes Samuel for ``The Harder They Fall.''

The awards will be presented in a virtual ceremony on March 16. The awards are presented by Final Draft, a Cast & Crew Company -- a screenwriting software developer.

Previous Final Draft Hall of Fame Award winners include Quentin Tarantino, Aaron Sorkin, Nancy Meyers, Lawrence Kasdan, Paul Schrader, Scott Alexander & Larry Karaszewski, Callie Khouri, Steven Zaillian, Robert Towne, Oliver Stone and Sydney Pollack.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content