Billie Eilish, Ariana Grande, Jay-Z Among Composer/Lyricist Nominees

Variety Hitmakers Presented by Peacock | Girls5eva - Arrivals

Photo: Getty Images

LOS ANGELES (CNS) - Composers Hans Zimmer and Alexandre Desplat and songwriters/singers including Lin-Manuel Miranda, Billie Eilish and Jay-Z were among the artists nominated today for the third annual Society of Composers & Lyricists Awards.

Zimmer was nominated for his score for the sci-fi film ``Dune,'' while Desplat was nominated for ``The French Dispatch.'' Also nominated in the studio film category were Nicholas Britell for ``Don't Look Up,'' Germaine Franco for ``Encanto'' and Jonny Greenwood for ``The Power of the Dog.''

Greenwood was also nominated in the independent film category for his score for ``Spencer.'' Also nominated were Kubilay Uner for ``American Traitor: The Trial of Axis Sally,'' Daniel Hart for ``The Green Knight,'' Rachel Portman for ``Julia'' and Alberto Iglesias for ``Parallel Mothers.''

Eilish and Jay-Z were both nominated for best song in a drama/documentary -- Eilish for ``No Time to Die'' from the James Bond film of the same name, and Jay-Z for ``Guns Go Bang'' from ``The Harder They Fall.'' Diane Warren was nominated twice in the category, for ``Somehow You Do'' from ``Four Good Days'' and for ``(Never Gonna) Tame You'' from ``The Mustangs: America's Wild Horses,'' while Rufus Wainwright was nominated for ``Secret Sister from ``Rebel Hearts.''

Miranda landed a nod for best song in a musical/comedy for ``Home All Summer'' from ``In the Heights.'' Also nominated in the category were Ariana Grande for ``Just Look Up'' from ``Don't Look Up''; Jennifer Hudson and Carole King for ``Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)'' from ``Respect''; Amie Doherty for ``Fearless'' from ``Spirit Untamed'' and Kris Bowers and Siedah Garrett for ``Together All the Way'' from ``Dear White People.'' The SCL Awards ceremony, hosted by Darren Criss, will be held Feb. 1 at the Skirball Cultural Center.

During the show, composer Carter Burwell and filmmakers Joel & Ethan Coen will receive The Spirit of Collaboration Award, honoring their partnership on 17 films, including ``Raising Arizona,'' ``The Big Lebowski'' and ``No Country for Old Men.''

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content