Scarlett Johansson To Receive American Cinematheque Honor


Photo: Getty Images

LOS ANGELES (CNS) - Oscar-nominated actress Scarlett Johansson, who stars in the upcoming “Avengers'' off-shoot “Black Widow,'' was named today the recipient of the 35th American Cinematheque Award.

“Scarlett Johansson's career embodies the essence of the American Cinematheque award,'' AC board chair Rick Nicita said in a statement. “Her immense talent has shone brightly from her movie debut as a child through her emergence as a megastar of blockbusters. She has acted in adventurous independent films with cutting-edge directors. She has starred in the most commercial of franchises. She has taken leading roles and supporting roles in movies budgeted big and small.

“Whenever she graces the screen with her luminous presence, the audience knows that they will see a dedicated artist at the height of her powers,'' he said. “We can't wait to share in the next phase of Scarlett Johansson's marvelous career."

Johansson will receive the honor during a Nov. 18 ceremony at The Beverly Hilton.

She began her performing career on New York stages, but gained attention in Hollywood at age 12 with her work in “The Horse Whisperer.'' She later received Oscar nominations for her work in “Marriage Story'' and “JoJo Rabbit.''

She is best known to younger audiences as Natasha Romanoff, aka Black Widow, in the “Avengers'' film world. Her other credits include “Lucy,'' “Ghost in the Shell,'' “Her,'' Isle of Dogs,'' “Hitchcock,'' “Match Point,'' “Vicky Cristina Barcelona,'' “The Prestige,'' “North'' and “The Man Who Wasn't There.''

Previous recipients of the American Cinematheque Award include Eddie Murphy, Spike Lee, George Clooney, Reese Witherspoon, Amy Adams, Bette Midler, Steve Spielberg, Ron Howard, Sean Connery, Jodie Foster, Nicole Kidman, Al Pacino, Julia Roberts and Samuel L. Jackson.

Copyright 2021, City News Service, Inc.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content