‘Mank' Leads Golden Globe Nominations As Netflix Asserts Its Dominance

LOS ANGELES (CNS) - “Mank,'' a biopic about screenwriter Herman Mankiewicz and his struggle to complete the script for “Citizen Kane,'' collected a leading six nominations today for the 78th Golden Globe Awards, while Aaron Sorkin's “The Trial of the Chicago 7'' earned five as Netflix dominated the field.

The pair of Netflix films were both nominated best motion picture drama, along with “The Father,'' “Nomadland'' and “Promising Young Woman.'' For musical/comedy films, nominations went to “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm,'' “Hamilton,'' “Music,'' “Palm Springs'' and Netflix's “The Prom.''

On the television side of the award, Netflix's “The Crown'' topped all nominees with six, including a nod for best drama series, a category that also includes HBO's “Lovecraft Country,'' Disney+'s “The Mandalorian'' and Netflix's “Ozark'' and “Ratched.''

Another Netflix series, “Emily in Paris,'' was nominated for best comedy/musical series, along with HBO Max's “The Flight Attendant,'' Hulu's “The Great,'' PopTV's “Schitt's Creek'' and Apple TV+'s “Ted Lasso.''

Netflix dominated the nominations overall, dwarfing all other platforms with 22 motion picture nominations and 20 TV nods.

Although it didn't land among the best drama film nominations, the Netflix film “Ma Rainey's Black Bottom'' got plenty of love for its performers, with Viola Davis and the late Chadwick Boseman each nominated for lead acting honors.

Joining Davis in the best drama actress category were Andra Day for “The United States vs. Billie Holiday,'' Vanessa Kirby for “Pieces of a Woman,'' Frances McDormand for “Nomadland'' and Carey Mulligan for “Promising Young Woman.''

Along with Boseman, nominations for best drama actor went to Riz Ahmed in “Sound of Metal,'' Anthony Hopkins for “The Father,'' Gary Oldman for “Mank'' and Tahar Rahim for “The Mauritanian.''

Sacha Baron Cohen was a double nominee in the acting categories, scoring nods for his lead role the musical/comedy “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm'' and for his supporting turn in “The Trial of the Chicago 7.''

He was joined the in the musical/comedy actor category by James Corden for “The Prom,'' Lin-Manuel Miranda for “Hamilton,'' Dev Patel for “The Personal History of David Copperfield'' and Andy Samberg for “Palm Springs.''

Cohen's “Borat'' co-star Maria Bakalova was nominated for best actress in a musical/comedy film, along with Kate Hudson for “Music,'' Michelle Pfeiffer for “French Exit,'' Rosamund Pike for “I Care a Lot'' and Anya Taylor-Joy for “Emma.''

Taylor-Joy was also a double nominee, earning a nod for best actress in a TV limited series for her work in Netflix's smash hit “The Queen's Gambit.'' Meryl Streep, a perennial favorite of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, was surprisingly snubbed for a nomination for the musical “The Prom.''

Sorkin landed a best-director nod for helming “The Trial of the Chicago 7,'' as did David Fincher for “Mank.'' Regina King was nominated for directing “One Night in Miami,'' as were Chloe Zhao for “Nomadland'' and “Emerald Fennell for “Promising Young Woman.''

Sorkin, Zhao and Fennell were also nominated for best screenplay for penning the scripts to their films, as was Fincher's father, Jack, for “Mank.'' Rounding out the category were Florian Zeller and Christopher Hampton for “The Father.''

Nominated along with Cohen for best supporting actor were Daniel Kaluuya for “Judas and the Black Messiah,'' Jared Leto for “The Little Things,'' Bill Murray for “On the Rocks'' and Leslie Odom Jr. for “One Night in Miami.''

Glenn Close received a supporting-actress nod for her role as a hard-smoking family matriarch in “Hillbilly Elegy,'' with other nods going to Olivia Colman for “The Father,'' Jodie Foster for “The Mauritanian,'' Amanda Seyfried for “Mank'' and Helena Zengel for “News of the World.''

Colman was also nominated for best actress in a TV drama series for her work on Netflix's “The Crown.'' Her co-star, Emma Corrin was also nominated in the category, along with Jodie Comer for “Killing Eve,'' Laura Linney for “Ozark'' and Sarah Paulson for “Ratched.'' Colman won the prize last year.

Jason Bateman scored his third drama-series actor nomination for “Ozark,'' while Bob Odenkirk earned his fourth nod in the category for “Better Call Saul.'' Also nominated were Josh O'Connor for “The Crown,'' Al Pacino for “Hunters'' and Matthew Rhys for “Perry Mason.''

Recent Emmy winners Catherine O'Hara and Eugene Levy were both nominated in the comedy/musical series lead-acting categories for “Schitt's Creek.''

O'Hara will square off with Lily Collins from “Emily in Paris,'' Kaley Cuoco for “The Flight Attendant,'' Elle Fanning for “The Great'' and Jane Levy for “Zoey's Extraordinary Playlist.''

Competing with Levy for musical/comedy series actor honors will be Don Cheadle for “Black Monday,'' Nicholas Hoult for “The Great,'' Jason Sudeikis for “Ted Lasso'' and Ramy Youssef for “Ramy.''

Netflix's “The Queen's Gambit'' and “Unorthodox'' were both nominated for best limited series or TV movie, as were Hulu's “Normal People,'' Amazon's “Small Axe'' and HBO's “The Undoing.''

Anya Taylor-Joy is an early favorite for best actress in a limited series/TV movie for “The Queen's Gambit,'' but she's facing some big-name competition among fellow nominees Cate Blanchett of “Mrs. America,'' Nicole Kidman of “The Undoing,'' Daisy Edgar-Jones of “Normal People'' and Shira Haas of “Unorthodox.''

The best actor category for limited series/TV movies is also a star-studded affair, with nominations going to Bryan Cranston for “Your Honor,'' Jeff Daniels for “The Comey Rule,'' Hugh Grant for “The Undoing,'' Ethan Hawke for “The Good Lord Bird'' and Mark Ruffalo for “I Know This Much is True.''

The nominations were announced virtually by actresses and previous Globe winners Sarah Jessica Parker and Taraji P. Henson on behalf of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association and its roughly 90 members.

The Golden Globes will be presented Feb. 28 in a yet-to-be-determined format, with Tina Fey and Amy Poehler hosting for a fourth time. For the first time, the ceremony will be a bi-coastal affair, with Fey hosting from The Rainbow Room in Manhattan and Poehler from the traditional location at the Beverly Hilton.

Jane Fonda will be presented with the HFPA's Cecil B. DeMille Award during the ceremony, while Norman Lear will receive the Carol Burnett Award for television achievement.

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content