League-High Seven Chargers Selected For Pro Bowl

League-High Seven Chargers Selected For Pro Bowl

COSTA MESA (CNS) - Seven Los Angeles Chargers were selected for the Pro Bowl, the most of any team, with rookie free safety Derwin James chosen to start, the NFL announced today.

The seven selections for the NFL's all-star game were the most for the Chargers since 2008.

The other Chargers selected were quarterback Philip Rivers, running back Melvin Gordon, receiver Keenan Allen, defensive end Melvin Ingram, center Mike Pouncey and Adrian Phillips, a safety chosen as a special teams player.

Chargers fullback Derek Watt, cornerback Casey Hayward and offensive tackle Russell Okung were chosen as alternates.

Rivers was selected to play in the Pro Bowl for the eighth time, Pouncey for the fourth, Allen and Gordon both for the second time and James and Philips for the first. Ingram played in the 2018 Pro Bowl after being selected as an alternate.

The Pro Bowl selections are determined by a combination of voting by fans, players and coaches, with each counting one-third for the selections.

The Pro Bowl will be played Jan. 27 in Orlando, Florida.

Photo: Getty Images


Content Goes Here