CA AG Xavier Becerra expands 'travel ban' on 'discriminatory' states

Credit: Getty Images

California Attorney General Xavier Becerra has added four new states to his "travel ban" list. The ban prohibits state employees from official travel to:

  • Alabama
  • Kentucky
  • South Dakota 
  • Texas 
  • North Carolina
  • Mississippi
  • Kansas
  • Tennessee

At a news conference in San Francisco, Becerra said:

“Each of those states in the recent weeks have enacted legislation that may deprive some of the individuals of those states and individuals who visit those states of their constitutional rights."

Alabama, Kentucky, South Dakota and Texas are the recent additions to the list. Last year California approved a bill that prohibits state sanctioned travel to North Carolina, Mississippi, Kansas, Tennessee and other states that discriminate based on gender identity or sexual orientation.

Becerra also said:

"The state of California is not going to participate in discriminatory conduct by other states."

Read more at SF Gate.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content