The NBA Is Rebranding Its MVP Trophy

The NBA is renaming all of its end-of-year awards after legendary former players and also creating a completely new award that players can win. The current MVP trophy will be changed to the Michael Jordan MVP Trophy. Even though former Laker Kareem Abdul-Jabbar has the most MVPs at six the NBA decided to name it after Jordan who is tied with Bill Russell for second-most all-time with five MVPs.

All of the league's other awards will also be named after other NBA greats.

  • The Defensive Player of the Year award will now be named the Hakeem Olajuwon trophy.
  • Rookie of the Year will be named after Wilt Chamberlain
  • Sixth Man of the Year will be the John Havlicek trophy.
  • Most Improved Player will be named after George Mikan.

The NBA is also creating a completely new award named after Jerry West. It will be called the Jerry West Clutch Player of the Year Award. Who do you think will win the world's first NBA Clutch Player of the Year?

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content