'1917' Wins PGA Award, Becomes Oscar Front-Runner

HOLLYWOOD (CNS) - A front-runner in the race for the best picture Oscar has emerged tonight as the Producers Guild of America held its 31st annual awards show, with the PGA honor traditionally foreshadowing success at the Academy Awards.

And the award went for the PGA's coveted Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures went to “1917,” director Sam Mendes' World War I drama, which also earned a Golden Globe. It beat out Quentin Tarantino's Manson-era tale, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood.”

Also competing for the top film prize were “Ford v Ferrari,” “The Irishman,” “Jojo Rabbit,” “Joker,” “Knives Out,” “Little Women,” “Marriage Story” and “Parasite.”

Since the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences expanded from five to 10 nominees in 2010, only two films have won the best picture Oscar without first winning the PGA Award. In 2016, the PGA Award went to “The Big Short,” but the Oscar went to “Spotlight.” The following year, “La La Land” won the PGA honor, while the Academy honored “Moonlight.”

Last year, both honors went to “Green Book.” According to the PGA, since the guild's inception, the PGA has predicted 21 of the 30 winners of the best picture Oscar.

For animated films, PGA nominees were the producers of “Abominable,” “Frozen II,” “How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World,” “Missing Link” and “Toy Story 4.”

On the small screen, producers of “Big Little Lies,” “The Crown,” “Game of Thrones,” “Succession” and “Watchmen” were vying for the producers award. Comedy series nominees were “Barry,” “Fleabag,” “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” “Schitt's Creek” and “Veep.”

“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” won the PGA comedy award last year.

The awards were presented at the Hollywood Palladium. During the ceremony, Netflix chief content officer Ted Sarandos received the guild's Milestone Award, the organization's “most prestigious honor.” Longtime television producer Marta Kauffman was presented the Norman Lear Achievement Award, while Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner received the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures. Actress Octavia Spencer received the guild's Visionary Award.

The film “Bombshell,” the story of the Fox News sexual harassment scandal, received the guild's Stanley Kramer Award, which honors productions that raise public awareness “of important social issues.”

Here is a complete list of winners:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

-- “1917,” Producers: Sam Mendes, Pippa Harris, Jayne-Ann Tenggren, Callum McDougall

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

-- “Toy Story 4," Producers: Mark Nielsen, Jonas Rivera

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures

--”Apollo 11,” Todd Douglas Miller, Thomas Petersen

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television - Drama

-- “Succession (Season 2)," Producers: Jesse Armstrong, Adam McKay, Frank Rich, Kevin Messick, Mark Mylod, Jane Tranter, Tony Roche, Scott Ferguson, Jon Brown, Georgia Pritchett, Will Tracy, Jonathan Glatzer, Dara Schnapper, Gabrielle Mahon

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television - Comedy

--”Fleabag (Season 2),” Producers: Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Harry Bradbeer, Lydia Hampson, Harry Williams, Jack Williams, Joe Lewis, Sarah Hammond

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited Series Television

--”Chernobyl,” Producers: Craig Mazin, Carolyn Strauss, Jane Featherstone, Johan Renck, Chris Fry, Sanne Wohlenberg

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures

--”Apollo: Missions to the Moon,” Producers: Tom Jennings, David Tillman, Abe Scheuermann, Chris Morcom, Rob Kirk

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television

--”Leaving Neverland,” Producer: Dan Reed

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television

--”Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (Season 6),” Producers: John Oliver, Tim Carvell, Liz Stanton, Jeremy Tchaban, Christopher Werner, Laura L. Griffin, Kate Mullaney, Matt Passet, Marian Wang, Charles Wilson

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Game & Competition Television

--”RuPaul's Drag Race (Season 11),” Producers: Fenton Bailey, Randy Barbato, Tom Campbell, Mandy Salangsang, RuPaul Charles, Steven Corfe, Bruce McCoy, Michele Mills, Jacqueline Wilson, Thairin Smothers, John Polly, Michelle Visage, Jen Passovoy

The Award for Outstanding Short-Form Program (Winner previously announced)

-- “Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee” (S11)

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program (Winner previously announced)

“What's My Name - Muhammad Ali”

The Award for Outstanding Children's Program (Winner previously announced)

-- “Sesame Street” (S49)

The PGA Innovation Award (Winner previously announced)

-- “Vader Immortal: A Star Wars VR Series - Episode I”

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content