Four Players Voted Into Baseball Hall Of Fame

Chipper Jones, Jim Thome, Vladimir Guerrero and Trevor Hoffman will be enshrined in the Major League Baseball Hall of Fame after being voted in by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America. According to, Jones and Thome were elected in their first year of eligibility, while Guerrero got in after failing to receive enough votes last year. Hoffman got the nod after his third try.

Jones was the number one overall pick in the 1990 Draft and went on to become an eight-time All-Star third baseman for the Atlanta Braves. His 1,623 RBIs are most all-time among third basemen and he is one of only nine players with at least 400 home runs, a .300 batting average, a .400 on-base percentage and a .500 slugging percentage. 

Thome currently sits at eighth on all time home run list with 612 and is one of only nine player to reach the 600 mark. He spent the early part of his career helping the Cleveland Indians win six division titles and two AL pennants between 1995 and 2001. 

Guerrero is one of only six players in history to hit at least 449 home runs and have a career batting average of .318 or higher. The power hitting slugger was feared by pitchers and showed he could reach just about any pitch, even ones that bounced in front of the plate. He spent the first eight seasons of his career with Montreal Expos before playing for Angles, Orioles, and Rangers. 

Trevor Hoffman got enough votes on his third year of eligibility. The reliable closer ranks second all time with 601 saves. He ranks first among relievers for the lowest number of hits allowed per nine innings, letting up just 6.989. He earned at least 40 saves nine times in his career, tying him with retired Yankees closer Mariano River. 

They will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on July 29 in Cooperstown, New York.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content