Drivers in California should prepare themselves for a host of new laws that have taken effect. The Department of Motor Vehicles says about a dozen new laws are now on the books and motorists need to pay attention.
Recreational marijuana may be legal, but the DMV says smoking or ingesting pot while driving or riding as a passenger is illegal.
Drivers who work for ride-sharing companies like Uber or Lyft are now being held to a higher standard too. A driver cannot have a blood alcohol content greater than .04 while transporting passengers.
And then there's the new registration fees. The DMV will be collecting a new Transportation Improvement Fee when residents register their car in California or have their license plate renewed. The fee ranges from $25 to $175 and is based on the car's current value.
Vehicles with Market Value RangeTransportation Improvement Fee
- Between $0 and $4,999 = $25
- Between $5,000 and $24,999 = $50
- Between $25,000 and $34,999 = $100
- Between $35,000 and $59,999 = $150
- $60,000 and higher = $175
If you want to read up on the new laws taking effect in California, you can read the complete list on the DMV's website here.