Cal State L.A. to Share in 5-Year, $4.5M Scholarship Program

Photo: Getty Images

LOS ANGELES (CNS) - Cal State Los Angeles is one of 10 colleges and universities nationwide that will share in $4.5 million in business-related scholarships over the next five years through a Kemper Foundation program, it was announced today.

The Kemper Scholars Program will award 650 scholarships over the next five years to ``high-achieving, diverse college students at 10 universities, including six Historically Black Colleges and Universities and Hispanic Serving Institutions,'' according to a foundation statement.

The foundation is the philanthropic arm of the Kemper Corp. insurance firm.

The need-based scholarships will be awarded to juniors or seniors in an academic area related to business, including financial services, actuarial science and insurance, according to the foundation.

Scholars will also be eligible to apply for internships with Kemper Corporation, with the program offering more than 325 such opportunities to partner schools over the next five years.

In addition, schools will receive financial grants to support professors who serve as liaisons to Kemper Scholars or pursue research in diversity, equity and inclusion opportunities.

``Support for education is one of our primary philanthropic pillars, as we aim to provide access to education to inspire and empower people to achieve their full potential,'' said Joseph P. Lacher Jr., Kemper Corp.'s president, CEO and chairman, and chairman of the Kemper Foundation's Board of Trustees.

``We're committed to building long-term relationships with leading academic institutions to offer diverse students not only financial support but a path to outstanding career opportunities as future business leaders. In addition, we hope to help elevate our partners' on-campus DE&I efforts through our professor grants and program support.''

In addition to Cal State L.A., other schools receiving funding are Clark Atlanta University in Georgia; Florida International University in Miami; Harris Stowe University in St. Louis; Miles College in Fairfield, Alabama; Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois; the University of Chicago; Notre Dame University in South Bend, Indiana; the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley in McAllen, Texas; and the University of Wisconsin in Madison, Wisconsin.

More information about the Kemper Foundation and the Scholars Program is available at

View Full Site